Lordswood wins Gold at Medway Sports Awards



The awards, sponsored by Bubble & Scruff and organised by Medway Council’s Medway Sport team, are held every other year to celebrate local sporting success and highlight the achievements of Medway’s clubs, teams, individuals, coaches, volunteers and schools.
Nominations for the awards were open to residents who were encouraged to nominate local clubs, teams and individuals in 11 categories including Primary School Team of the Year, Coach of the Year and Junior Sportsperson of the Year. The awards cover achievements from October 1, 2016 to October 26, 2018. Nominations stayed opened until Friday, October 26, 2018.
Shortlisted nominees were invited to a gala celebration evening on Friday, December 14 at MidKent College. Gold, silver and bronze awards were presented to the judges’ chosen winners on the night.
We are incredibly proud of Lordswood School, one of our Primaries in Medway, who won the Primary School of the Year Award sponsored by Greenacre Sports Partnership.
On top of this massive achievement, we were delighted to see Rachael Burford, a former Lordswood pupil, named as Sportsperson of the year, completing somewhat of a personal hatrick having won previously in 2006 and 2010. It capped another brilliant two years for the Medway born rugby union star, who has won more than 80 England caps having represented her country for over a decade.

Other winners on the night were:

  • Team of the year – Holcombe HC ladies 1st XI
  • Junior team of the year – Champion Aerobic Gymnastics Club – GBR team members
  • Official of the year – Ann Hopkins
  • Coach of the year – Eddie Orgee
  • Secondary School of the year – Greenacre Academy
  • Unsung hero of the year – Dan Gower-Smith and Gary Smith
  • Club of the year – Anchorians FC
  • Junior Club of the year – Kent Crusaders Basketball Club

Guests also included Gillingham players Callum Reilly and Navid Nasseri, along with chairman Paul Scally and manager Steve Lovell.